I like masks.  Masks that are not scary are fun to look at.  Masks often used in many folk story telling.  This is an Indonesian mask.  I have no idea if this is used in any story telling dance.  In Indonesia, people often use masks to perform dramatic Indonesian dance.  Each place in many of Indonesian provinces has its own masked dance.  They tell many various stories which are accompanied by narratives and traditional musical.

When I was growing up, I often watched these dances on many local TV programs.  Honestly speaking, I have no idea what they were talking about and what was going on.  They were so fascinating that I often did not care even if I could not understand.   Those  colorful clothing  and masks that  the performers wore were very vivid and it spiced up the whole story telling drama too.

practice 555 - #33 indonesian mask

